Tips and general discussion on mission building
Users browsing this topic: None
View previous topic :: View next topic
DeltaNiner
Corporal

DeltaNiner

Post Post subject: Historic vs Playable
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 07:41 PM

I'm just getting into the fmb and how many planes are involved is a point of uncertainty. Reading the encounters during the battle of Britain it seems even the small encounters would be pretty big by IL2 standards.

So do I scale it down and jeopardize historic value to have a mission that the players success (or lack of) effects the outcome of the mission.

or

Do I stick to the actual numbers of planes in a given confrontation and create an epic battle where the players actions are lost in the crowd and the outcome is decided by hoards of ai planes.

I'd like to know what the opinions are of the flyers and mission builders with more experience than myself.

Thanks
DeltaNiner

farber
Air commodore

farber

Post Post subject: Re: Historic vs Playable
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 08:32 PM

DeltaNiner wrote:

So do I scale it down and jeopardize historic value to have a mission that the players success (or lack of) effects the outcome of the mission.

Isn't survival and life after those fleeting two minutes the greatest reward?

DeltaNiner
Corporal

DeltaNiner

Post Post subject: Re: Historic vs Playable
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 09:05 PM

Quote::
Isn't survival and life after those fleeting two minutes the greatest reward?

so you would prefer epic battles over personal influence of the mission.
I agree that survival can be very rewarding though at times I find it to be quite elusive. Crying or Very sad

9./JG54_EZ
Air Vice Marshall

9./JG54_EZ

Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Cluster, Local Supercluster

Post Post subject: Historic vs Playable
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:56 PM

S~