Tips and general discussion on mission building
Users browsing this topic: None
View previous topic :: View next topic
Vole
Flight Lieutenant

Vole

Post Post subject: Immersion killers
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:54 PM

When you set off flying a campaign you will have to strain your imagination to a higher or lesser degree. Flying for example a Guadalcanal campaign built on the Guadalcanal map with the actual planes included is less straining than flying a Battle of Britain campaign on the Finland map with TU-2's as stand ins for Dornier Do 17's.

However, a large number of campaigns (including some of my own) uses stand ins for maps, planes and so on. Each of these factors and even other factors can be immersion killers (not my expression - it is electrons (or thats where I got it) - but I kind of like the expression).

So ... which are the worst immersion killers for you? As a mission builder I am highly interested in the answer.

For me it is definitely the use of - or rather the lack of - ground objects. Nothing like a deserted airfield supposed to be busy for killing immersion off!

Map choice CAN be a killer too. For some reason I have personally never been able to accept Finland as stand in for the South of England.

PhilK
Master of the FMB
Master of the FMB

PhilK

Post Post subject:
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 01:05 PM

"Perfect" or "Good" weather at mid-day is an immersion killer, as the lack of shadows and humidity makes the landscape look plasticky. I tend to avoid making missions in the 11am-1pm time period, and if I do, I use poor/blind weather.

bingofuel
Pilot Officer

bingofuel

Post Post subject:
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 02:15 PM

Too much aircrafts in the sky which provoke low performance.
Lags are the worst immersion killer.