Mission4Today  

Cant use midway runway
Tips and general discussion on mission building
Users browsing this topic: None
Post new topic Reply to topic Printer Friendly Page
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TeamFlyingAce162
Sergeant

TeamFlyingAce162

Offline

Joined: Sep 25, 2010
Posts: 48

Post Post subject: Cant use midway runway
Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 07:24 PM
Reply with quote

On the Midway map, there are two runways on Eastern Island, but I can't seem to be able to spawn any aircraft on the one runway cutting across the center of the island. Any planes I try to set a waypoint to said runway just snap to the other runway.

Explanation anyone?


_________________
See – Decide – Attack – Break
~Haptmann Erich "Bubi" Hartman, Highest scoring fighter pilot at 356 kills.
Back to top
View user's profile
Kurfurst
Air Chief Marshall

Kurfurst

Offline

Joined: Oct 31, 2009
Posts: 2516
Location: UK

Post Post subject: Re: Cant use midway runway
Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 07:33 PM
Reply with quote

From my experience from such runways, one is for taking off, and the other is for simultaneous landing.

Try it, it freaks the AI pilots!

Back to top
View user's profile
TeamFlyingAce162
Sergeant

TeamFlyingAce162

Offline

Joined: Sep 25, 2010
Posts: 48

Post Post subject: Re: Cant use midway runway
Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 07:52 PM
Reply with quote

Thanks for trying, but that's not my issue. ACs just refuse to "snap" to the runway when I place the "Takeoff" waypoint, either snapping to the other runway or seaplane base. I can't use it even for landing.

I do know what your saying. The dual runway airports in the Berlin map come to mind, as does a Manchurian map. My issue is that the airport in Midway is a rather uneven triangle shape, and the runway I cant use forms the bottom of said triangle(the center runway in the pic here):



Then again, the entire island is a pain, with all the different airbases all clumped together(plus a seaplane base). I had a rather funny screwup where I spawned a flight of Brewsters on the seaplane base without realizing it...which ended predictably. I'm thinking that I have to drag the takeoff waypoint to a certain area or something... Perhaps there's something that prevents aircraft from spawning on the base so they don't constantly run into each other?


_________________
See – Decide – Attack – Break
~Haptmann Erich "Bubi" Hartman, Highest scoring fighter pilot at 356 kills.
Back to top
View user's profile
Kurfurst
Air Chief Marshall

Kurfurst

Offline

Joined: Oct 31, 2009
Posts: 2516
Location: UK

Post Post subject: Re: Cant use midway runway
Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 08:02 PM
Reply with quote

I'm still gonna stick with my initial reply, only because I think the game decides where from midway your planes will take off from and land onto.

That said, as you have stated, you could drag the take off waypoint to where you wanna take off from, but it may drag itself back again. If you wanna take off in a field and put down a take off waypoint it may put itself onto a legit runway, but it still allows you to drag it back to your original take off point

Back to top
View user's profile
TeamFlyingAce162
Sergeant

TeamFlyingAce162

Offline

Joined: Sep 25, 2010
Posts: 48

Post Post subject: Re: Cant use midway runway
Posted: Sun May 01, 2011 10:20 PM
Reply with quote

Hmm... Well, thanks for trying to help, It's really appreciated. The strange thing is that the runway takes the appearence of a legit runway, but is not.

I guess I'll just have to find a work-around. Still, thanks for the effort.


_________________
See – Decide – Attack – Break
~Haptmann Erich "Bubi" Hartman, Highest scoring fighter pilot at 356 kills.
Back to top
View user's profile
Beebop
Admin & Founder Member
Admin & Founder Member

Beebop

Offline

Joined: Jul 04, 2006
Posts: 6574
Location: Happyrock, OR USA

Post Post subject: Re: Cant use midway runway
Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 01:28 AM
Reply with quote

Interesting. I just tried it too and lo and behold, the longest runway, even though it has airport icons will not accept takeoff or landing waypoints.
This is true for not only the stock version (4.10.1m) but also UP 2.01,
However...on BP's Midway map (UP2.01) you can take off from the Eastern end but not the Western end. You can't land at either end of the long runway. I'm guessing that the mod mapmakers didn't fool with the original airport layout except that one tweak by BP.

One again, even after all these years, you still learn something new.


_________________
M4T Forum Terms and Conditions of posting
Back to top
View user's profile Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
wheelsup_cavu
Admin & FMB Specialist
Admin & FMB Specialist

wheelsup_cavu

Offline

Joined: Sep 16, 2008
Posts: 5510
Location: 33.875484/-117.567516

Post Post subject:
Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 01:30 AM
Reply with quote

Only 2 of the 4 runways seem to be usable on the Midway map.
The one without any icons is definitely not useable but the one where I circled the two icons should be useable but it isn't useable. When I try to use that one to land or takeoff the waypoint snaps to the runway with the black arrow.


Wheels


_________________
M4T Forum Terms and Conditions of posting

M4T Helpers:
Forum Search - Forum Index - FAQ - Knowledge Base - Links

Last edited by wheelsup_cavu on Mon May 02, 2011 01:31 AM; edited 1 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
KrashanTopolova
Air commodore

KrashanTopolova

Offline

Joined: Sep 10, 2006
Posts: 694

Post Post subject:
Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 05:42 AM
Reply with quote

try placing the player aircraft in either of two ways:

It could be that the corss runways have their takeoff/landing points too close to each other at the end outlined in the thread diagram.
Try setting over the icon or in the middle of the runway ar at the opposite end (takeoff direction is usually opposite to where you set the player aircraft).

failing that you could always use a runway 4 to get a takeoff point but advise that it should not run up the island but should run out to sea...then you can manipulate the takeoff direction in the opposite direction (over the island)

Back to top
View user's profile
Kurfurst
Air Chief Marshall

Kurfurst

Offline

Joined: Oct 31, 2009
Posts: 2516
Location: UK

Post Post subject:
Posted: Mon May 02, 2011 08:56 AM
Reply with quote

Have a go with Tinian airbase. I used B-29s to take off and then land back at Tinian. Not only did I have B-29s taking off from one strip and landing on another, the AI pilots were choosing which end of the strip to land, and they were landing on a head on course with each other!

Back to top
View user's profile
TeamFlyingAce162
Sergeant

TeamFlyingAce162

Offline

Joined: Sep 25, 2010
Posts: 48

Post Post subject:
Posted: Fri May 13, 2011 03:46 PM
Reply with quote

Well, seeing that the 4.11 update is now allowing us mission builders to use static aircraft as takeoff waypoints, most of our Takeoff/Landing questions will be solved(and of course, more will pop up).

Too bad for me, as my wings have been clipped. My computer's hard drive fried just after Wheelup's post. Fortunetly, my dad works on computers for a living, and is trying to see if he can't save over 12 year's worth of skins, 4 years of mission building, and ten 100+ mission campaigns.


_________________
See – Decide – Attack – Break
~Haptmann Erich "Bubi" Hartman, Highest scoring fighter pilot at 356 kills.
Back to top
View user's profile
Post new topic Reply to topic Printer Friendly Page

 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
Normal
No new posts Mission Building Plane from taxi to take-off runway? 3 Gen.Zax 1195
 Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:33 PM 
Gen.Zax View latest post
No new posts Film, movie and video clips. WW II : RARE COLOR FILM : MIDWAY 0 BH-21 459 WW II : RARE COLOR FIL...
 Fri Oct 04, 2013 08:36 PM 
BH-21 View latest post
No new posts QMB Missions Midway Island QMB now available for download
[ Go to pageGo to page: 1, 2 ]
28 wheelsup_cavu 4616 Re: Midway Island QMB
 Wed Oct 02, 2013 03:50 PM 
Beebop View latest post
No new posts IL-2 General Discussion Tree on the runway 11 Atoka220 1588
 Tue Aug 20, 2013 02:32 PM 
-HF-Aardvark892 View latest post
No new posts Mission Building Missions Using Taxi To Runway In 4.12 2 szombat62 1009 Re: Missions Using Tax...
 Thu Aug 08, 2013 03:52 PM 
szombat62 View latest post
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster
We cannot accept responsibly for the suitability of software downloaded from this site
nor be held liable for any losses arising from the use of material downloaded.

Material on this website may bear political markings
these are for historical purposes only and do not represent the political beliefs of M4T or any of our members.

Powered by Lunarpages


Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy